top of page
Search

Nasu Omelet


Eggy Eggplant. Egg-Plant. Egg and the Plant. Stir-fried Egg and Eggplant. Mother and Egg. Egg Plant and Fruit. Hmm...

One time my older brother mocked me for my choice of password for my laptop. My password then was password. But after a few months, my younger sister started overusing my laptop when I'm not home, without my permission. So I decided to change my password. After some time, my brother borrowed my laptop and asked me my new password. I whispered to him "new password". He said verbatim, "for a sister of such creativity, you suck at passwords".

Yeah, I have very poor naming ability too. I named my bicycle Kicchan because it was given to me by a Kida-san. There are still a few examples on my poorly-named list but let's just go back to the dish. I didn't want to turn you off with a poor dish name, as it did when I reread my candidates above. So I decided to call it nasu omelet. Nasu・茄子 is Japanese for "eggplant". I thought this name gives this very simple dish a bit of curiosity, enough to make you try it (and now you know another Japanese word!). This dish is really worth a try-- my husband assures you. Haha! I also like running to this dish when I'm out of bento ideas.

 

Ingredients

  • 1 large egg

  • 1 small eggplant (about 100 g)

  • 1/8 tsp ajinomoto

  • 1/8 tsp VCP

  • black pepper

  • 1 tbsp cooking oil

Procedure

  1. Cut eggplant into fat strips (about 1.5x1.5x8cm).

  2. On a small pan over high fire, add cooking oil.

  3. Toss in the eggplant then mix very well to distribute oil.

  4. Season the eggplant with ajinomoto and black pepper. Mix.

  5. Meanwhile, crack the egg on a small bowl, add VCP, then scramble well.

  6. Lower the fire to medium heat then pour scrambled egg into the eggplant on the pan.

  7. After about 15-20 seconds, mix the eggplant and the egg.

  8. Turn off the fire but continue mixing to cook the egg well.

Tips and Tricks If you want it looking meaty like the one on the picture above, stir-fry it a bit longer. Otherwise, transfer immediately to a plate to decrease after-cooking heat from the pan.


11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page