top of page
Search

Vegan Basil Pesto Spaghetti


I love dairies, especially cheese. However, recently, I've been feeling like I'm developing some sort of lactose intolerance. The past couple of weeks, every time I eat my usual cheesy spaghetti, toasts or cheesecake, my head immediately aches-- from mild headache to quite terrible migraine. It is usually followed by vomiting. After I've vomited a third of my meal or dessert, my head feels lighter. But I would still feel phlegm thickly surrounding my throat. Is that a mild form of lactose intolerance or something? But I tell you, it surely is not pregnancy. Hahaha.

I usually eat my pesto pasta with showers of parmesan cheese. But in times when the rest of my body doesn't cooperate with my taste buds, I follow the bigger organ/s. ​Good thing there's cashew. It's like my magic ​​"beans" when I cannot have cheese. ​Also one of those lazy person's food I eat when I'm all alone, basil pesto pasta has kept me alive during those lunch times when I have no drive to cook for myself and/or very absorbed with some sort of stuff (like blogging and studying Japanese). The trick here is: always stock up on basil pesto sauce in your fridge or freezer so that you can have it even on your busiest days. In the fridge, my pesto sauce has lasted almost a month before I ate it all up. In the freezer, it can last to more than six months. If you resist to use it.

 

Ingredients

  • vegan basil pesto sauce

  • 100 g spaghetti, cooked until al dente

  • cashew

  • 1/4 tsp lemon juice

Procedure

  1. Put a lavish amount of vegan basil pesto sauce on al dente spaghetti.

  2. Squeeze or pour lemon juice on spaghetti, then mix well.

  3. Sprinkle some crushed cashew as replacement to cheese.

Tips and tricks On days when I make basil pesto sauces, I usually grind extra cashew nuts then store in an airtight container because it's not my hobby to wash my blender. Then whenever I feel like going vegan, I have a cheese replacer to run to. But obviously, I didn't have ground cashew this time so I just crushed the cashew nuts while in its strong plastic sachet and had a nutty, crunchy pesto lunch. Pistachio has a different flavor but is as good as cashew in pesto.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page