top of page
Search

Soy Tuna Carbonara


This is a recipe I would love to serve to my best friend, who's a big fan of both vegetarian fish and carbonara. Should I prepare this on your birthday this month? Yay!

In this recipe, I used frozen soy fish because the canned soy tuna I used to buy has been out of stock for several months now. Whenever I use the canned soy tuna, I usually make my own white sauce out of flour, butter and milk. I find it too rich when I use cream because the canned one is very flavorful.

 

Ingredients

  • soy fish

  • button mushroom (optional)

  • yakinori

  • all-purpose cream

  • butter

  • salt and pepper

  • Italian seasoning

  • VCP

  • spaghetti, cooked until al dente

Procedure

  1. Dice soy fish and button mushroom into desired size. I like it small so it kinds of stick on the pasta when I eat it, but some might like it in bigger chunks if you want something biteable on the sauce.

  2. Stir fry soy fish and button mushroom bits/chunks on butter until lightly brown. Sprinkle also with black pepper and Italian seasoning.

  3. Lower the fire to minimum heat and pour in the all-purpose cream. Immediately season with vegetarian chicken powder (VCP) and more Italian seasoning.

  4. Mix the sauce well to avoid burning the cream, especially the ones on the circumference of the sauce.

  5. Before the sauce boils, add in 3/4 of nori (cut into confetti size) and adjust taste. If saltiness of nori is not enough for your tastebuds, this is the time to add some salt.

  6. Turn the fire off but keep on mixing for a few more seconds.

  7. Top your spaghetti with this sauce and sprinkle the rest of the nori confetti on top.

  8. Serve hot!

​Tips and tricks Some people don't like too creamy white sauces so you might want to dilute your sauce with water or fresh milk. Add it right after pouring in the cream and while mixing, to keep track of your sauce's consistency. While some people don't like it too creamy, some people like it even creamier. My tips is to add grated cheese into the sauce and decrease or remove the salt.​


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page